| l’ultimo uomo |

Facebook Twitter Instagram YouTube Soundcloud

| l’ultimo uomo |

L’Ultimo Uomo is the sixth dream about Rèfles, a fictional character.

He is made of repressed emotions that wander in a single direction in the form of black plasma to be gathered in a liquid mass: his body. Once acquired his consciousness over time, he lives in a parallel dimension together with other Archetypes. He can communicate with humans only through dreams and art.

It’s the year 2047, and man lives on three planets. 36% of the overall population owns an implanted artificial intelligence technology. The Central Government of the First Colony tacitly financed a project in order to implant chips also in the animals of the Third Colony, as the conclusion of a long process of digitizing reality. However, a tragic accident in an anthill triggers a species war that leads to extinction.

Rèfles is the last to survive. Shaken and confused, he wanders relentlessly across the desert land in search of answers.

L’Ultimo Uomo | tracklist |

1. Caveat Emptor
2. 白い
3. Ragnarök
4. Mörgæs Rìki
5. Rencontre Germinal
6. Garbanotos Mintys
7. Черный Вальс
8. Παρρησία
9. L’Ultimo Uomo

| buy cd |
| download on bandcamp |

As often happened with SWS’ music, the idea of an album, or at least a bunch of songs, happens while working on something else, so that the correct release doesn’t correspond in the correct order. I started working on it in summer of 2015, just before moving to Berlin. The silly concept was to start djing there, so I started to produce some upbeat demos that later become tracks 1, 2, 3, 5, and an unreleased track Basil. The project stayed in the hard drive for months, until July 2016, when I was asked to play at a gig with one of my bands. But all I had was Relic, a death metal band from Bologna, and Spookshow Inc, an industrial rock band from Vilnius, Lithuania, and both were impossible to bring there. So it was the perfect chance to test this raw material. The concert was bad, but I was super excited to go forward with that, gathering all the raw demos I had for this record.

Three tracks came from a sound design project for a mobile app I was working on, two tracks had been written from scratch, then I booked a vocal booth for 8-9 hours and spent one and half years mixing the whole thing.

Music and Lyrics by Emilio Larocca Conte.
Mixed by Emilio Larocca Conte.
Mastered by Mekis.
All vocals recorded at Noize Fabrik studios in Berlin.
Artwork inspired by the painting Barche nel Porto di Notte by Emilio Larocca sr.

Produced by Nilasphere.
Published by Cockroach International Production.

Released January 28, 2018.

2018, Cockroach Int. Production/Nilasphere Music